"Petr Eben: Chamber Music for Oboe" 

 (Click Here)

Czech and Moravian Oboe Music
Buy it Now
Centaur Records
Play Masek
Play Schiffauer

Composers: Pavel Masek, Jiri Teml, Edvars Schiffauer, Pavel Cotek, Joseph Fiala, Ctirad Kohoutek, Lubomir Kozeluha
Performers: Vitezslav Cernoch, Pablo Mahave-Veglia, Paul Swantek, Marlen Vavrikova, Rachel Jensen
Time: 1 hour 16 minutes

It (Schiffauer's Fairytale) is quite a technical tour-de-force, one which Vav?ikova brings off to stutteringly stunning effect. Vav?ikova is master of all she has chosen to assay in this unusually interesting program. Her purity of tone, accuracy of pitch, and breath control are exemplary. This is strongly recommended to all oboe fanciers and to anyone who has an interest in unfamiliar Czech repertoire. (Jerry Dubins, Fanfare Magazine)

This fine new disc has a clear dual purpose - to spotlight a fine oboist and shed light on a group of composers from a region that needs and deserves new champions. Vav?ikova plays beautifully throughout, with a sensitive and lyrical touch, sure technique and intonation, and a range of dynamics unusually wide for oboists. Such a collection of little known works usually has more misses than hits, but all of these are eminently listenable. A must for oboe fans. Edvard Schiffauer's Pohadka o lasce proves to be a strong work that deserves a formidable advocate. The notes give a detailed description of how certain intervals and rhythms are manipulated to portray the interplay of love, death, and betrayal. These are heady concepts to expect a lone wind player to exude, but Vav?ikova paints a vivid and compelling picture. (Michael Cameron, Fanfare Magazine)

Seamus 14
Compliation #14 of music by members of the Society of Electroacoustic Music in the United States.
The compositions include Craig Walsh's 'Terma' (2003), Paul Rudy's 'Thema: Omaggio' (2002), Michael Drews' 'Broken Symmetry' (2004) for Oboe, Piano and Tape, Greg Beyer's 'Bahian Counterpoint sounds (homage to Steve Reich)' (2002), Luis Maurette's Surrender' (2004), Scott A, Wyatt's 'On A Roll' (2004), John Christopher Nelson's ' l'Horlage imaginare' (2002), Russell Pinkston's 'Lizamander' (2004), and Jomenico's 'Iteration 31' Performances are by Stella Markou (soprano), Marlen Vavrikova (oboe), David Psenicka (piano), Elizabeth McNutt (flute). Jomenico, btw, is Margaret Schedel, John P. Young, and Nick Collins.

Photo Credit: Dan Merlo